Sex Offender Registration Requirements

Pursuant to Nevada Revised Statute, there are three requirements a sex offender must fulfill in order to be in compliance with the sex offender registry: Initial Registration, Change of Address, and Annual Verification. Failure to comply with any one of these requirements is a felony offense.

Initial Registration - NRS 179D.460

NRS 179D.460 - If a sex offender resides or is present for 48 hours or more within a county or incorporated city that does not have a city police department the sex offender shall be deemed a resident sex offender and shall register with the sheriff’s office of the county or, if the county or the city is within the jurisdiction of a metropolitan police department, the metropolitan police department, not later than 48 hours after arriving or establishing a residence within the county or the city.

If the sex offender resides or is present for 48 hours or more within an incorporated city that has a city police department, the sex offender shall be deemed a resident sex offender and shall register with the city police department not later than 48 hours after arriving or establishing a residence within the city.

Change of Address - NRS 179D.470

NRS 179D.470 - If a sex offender changes the address at which he resides, including moving from this State to another jurisdiction, or changes the primary address at which he is a student or worker, not later than 48 hours after changing such an address, the sex offender shall provide the new address, in person, to the local law enforcement agency in whose jurisdiction he now resides and, in person or in writing, to the local law enforcement agency in whose jurisdiction he formerly resided and shall provide all other information that is relevant to updating his record of registration, including, but not limited to, any change in his name, occupation, employment, work, volunteer service or driver’s license and any change in the license number or description of a motor vehicle registered to or frequently driven by him.

Annual Verification - NRS 179D.480

NRS 179D.480 - On the anniversary of the date that the Central Repository establishes a record of registration for the sex offender, the Central Repository shall mail to the sex offender, at the address last registered by the sex offender, a non-forwardable verification form. The sex offender shall complete and sign the form and mail the form to the Central Repository not later than 10 days after receipt of the form to verify that he still resides at the address he last registered. A sex offender shall include with each verification form a current set of fingerprints, a current photograph and all other information that is relevant to updating his record of registration, including, but not limited to, any change in his name, occupation, employment, work, volunteer service or driver’s license and any change in the license number or description of a motor vehicle registered to or frequently driven by him.

For More Information...

For information on the State of Nevada's registration and community notification requirements, contact Sex Offender Registration unit at (775) 687-1600 (M-F 8am to 5pm PT) or the Nevada Attorney General web site.

For complete information on Sex Offender Registration in State of Nevada, please see the NRS 179D